Hello there!

Hello there!  Welcome!  How is 2016 treating you all?  I hope this finds you happy and healthy (or at least on the road to both).

Well, 2016 has gone off with a bang for Trio.  The first big thing is that Gorgeous Girl has started Prep, which is what we spent all of 2015 and part of 2014 working towards.  GG is at a mainstream school and we are just in love with it.  They have made everything sooooooooo easy!  GG is doing amazingly well and she is such a delight to be around.  School has been one of the best things that has ever happened to her.  So a big woohoo there!  But she has realised more so than at Kindy that she is different to the other kids.  She talks to me about it, which is great, and we discuss the differences between us and we talk about the similarities.  We talk about her friends and the differences between them all as well as the similarities.  ASD has been a part of my usual vocabulary since GG was 2 1/2 when the Paediatrician first suggested that she was on the Spectrum.  Both kids understand that they have a diagnosis and that it just means that their brains work differently.  We even Googled brains a few nights ago (at the request of Beautiful Boy) and found some pretty cool pictures that illustrated the differences between ASD brains and neurocommon brains.  We found one, below, that showed the different parts of the brain and identified what it controlled, so we were able to identify challenges that each child has and pinpoint the part of the brain that controls that part, we also identified their gifts and found the area of the brain that is responsible for that too.  It was a pretty interesting discussion.

Brain pic

The second big thing is that my amazingly wonderful and generous sister is sending me on a holiday ALL BY MYSELF!  I am so burnt out that I can’t even muster the energy to get too excited about it yet – although I am getting joy out of saying that I am going on holidays next month 🙂  I am on a (seemingly never ending) mission to find a way to clean, organise and declutter my home (that’s a whole other post right there) with the kids in the house.  An example of that challenge:  Yesterday, I was in the kitchen preparing dinner and BB sneaked a roll of toilet paper past me and toilet papered the lounge room and the siblings bedroom!  That was a new one for us…  So I have my own personal goals to pursue this year as well as the kids goals, but with GG doing so well things are looking up in many areas 😀

BB on the other hand…  There has been somewhat of a role reversal between the siblings this year as BB use to be the easy going, helpful, compliant one with GG being the more high maintenance of the two, but that is absolutely not the case this year!  The best part (sarcasm alert) is that GG never behaved in this way, so I am waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyy out of my depth here and totally swimming blind whilst running on empty.  BB will be starting Prep next year, so hopefully things will start to run smoother then 😮  So big things are going to be happening this year with BB in order to help him get ready to start Prep AND there is something big approaching on the therapy front which I am really excited about.

The big things happening with BB is partially what has inspired this blog.  The kids Occupational Therapist (henceforth referred to as ‘The OT’) advised me to start a journal of all the things that arose throughout the day and reflect on what worked, what didn’t, how to implement long term measures to address the issue etc.  I immediately went out to buy myself a pretty notebook to inspire myself to sit down and write in it every night after the siblings had headed to bed.  But as I browsed finding absolutely nothing that grabbed me, I realised that I don’t write!  I don’t do paper!  I am a digital gal!  I. Type.  So I decided to set up a journal template on my laptop to make it nice and easy to make entries.  Then I thought a little more and realised I may as well bite the bullet and just start the blog that people have been suggesting I start.  I talk ASD/Parenting all the time on my personal Facebook page posting ASD memes and articles (more so now for Autism Awareness Month), eliciting suggestions from my friends that I start a blog.

So, here it is.  My blog.  I know there are probably many, many blogs out there from mum’s with children on the Spectrum.  But hey, what’s one more to add to the plethora?

Leave a Reply

